Birmingham in 24 Hours

I am a travel bug. I love just packing up a couple things and heading to somewhere else, wherever that may be, even if it’s just for a night or two. Last spring, I took January-May off of school and just traveled, and it was some of the best months of my life. Since then, it has been harder for me to stay in one place for too long without at least a few jaunts to nearby cities, and I find myself getting twitchy if I feel too busy to get away every once in a while.  This past weekend, my brother and I decided to make a journey to Birmingham, Alabama. Neither of us had ever set foot in the state of Alabama, and had little to no previous knowledge of the city of Birmingham. We were only there for a little over 24 hours, but it was interesting nonetheless. We found good food, quirky coffee shops, and explorable antique stores. This is a coffee shop called Urban Standard in the downtown area. This was probably my favorite place that we went, and if you’re a fan of locally owned places with good coffee and a great vibe, I would check it out if you ever find yourself in Birmingham. It made me wish I could settle into the corner with a book of poetry and spend the afternoon people watching in between poems. IMG_7597 My brother and I walked up the biggest hill I have ever seen to take this photo, so I seriously hope that you appreciate the cheesy cityscape. P1020223 One of the most interesting things that I saw while I was there was at a restaurant called 26 in Five Points. At the bottom of the menu, the restaurant asked you to refrain from using your cell phone while in the building. As a result, I didn’t see a single phone the entire time I was there. People were engaged with each other, with the waitstaff, and with the environment. I saw a room full of people who seemed entirely present, which was honestly exciting. I was able to enjoy a delicious, beautifully presented meal without watching a single person take a picture of their food. How refreshing.

Leave a Reply

