Pocket Sized

My mother loved me so hard
I came into the world splotched in blue
The umbilical cord wrapped around my neck
Like a leash
to keep me inside her.

She yelled “if you can’t see me, I can’t see you”
While I stretched legs tight with childhood
And my eyes weakened as if my
Own senses tethered me to her.

She wrapped thick arms around my
Caving rib cage
Squeezing me down to ensure I was
Never too big for her pocket.

From 758 miles away
I can’t see her
even if I squint.

Still

The umbilical cord may not be
Wound around this blue faced baby anymore but
lord knows I am
Suffocating-
A rib cage compressed too tightly to have room for a
Big heart I
Don’t think I’ll ever be
Un-leashed.

Leave a Reply

