Wordy

I am home, tired, and happy.

I have been traveling with my best friend for the last two weeks. We went up the East Coast, with stops in D.C., New York, Boston, Niagara, and Toronto. We pulled into the driveway at 5 am this morning after driving for 13 hours.

The past two weeks have been interesting in a lot of ways – from experiencing truly big cities to discovering the drinking age is 19 in Toronto to meeting awesome people, it has definitely been a journey.

Despite crazy days, I got the chance to write a great deal while traveling. New York especially inspired me in a way that I don’t think I’ve ever experienced before, which was exciting. I will definitely be back for more.

In several following posts, I’m going to group poems by city. It may not seem like a lot of writing, but for someone who sometimes goes months without producing anything new, it’s a pretty big deal.

Just for fun, here are a couple of my favorite pictures from the trip.

IMG_0665

The Lincoln Memorial in Washington, D.C.

IMG_0709

Williamsburg, Brooklyn was my favorite part of New York.

FullSizeRender-12

We went to Queensbridge Park to see George Clinton and Parliament Funkadelic, who were playing for free there. It was a fun show, and the views were awesome. What beats city skylines and some classic funk?

FullSizeRender-13

Boston’s North End felt very European, with crowded, winding streets and a lot to look at.

FullSizeRender-14

Toronto had a lot of personality, and managed to harbor some interesting spots and keep it’s hip, bike-friendly, smaller-city feel despite being pretty dang big.

IMG_5176

Niagara falls were breathtaking. That was a truly unparalleled experience.

Leave a Reply

