My brother writes music

My brother writes songs weekly – they just spill out of him so readily. He’s very musically talented. But he doesn’t really write lyrics, and he’s been trying to get me to write him lyrics forever. I wrote a cheesy set of lyrics a little while ago, and made them fit the music he wrote for them a little better recently. Yeah, they’re about travel, they’re cheesy, and they are incredibly cliche. But I had a good time writing them, so I thought I’d share.

Tossing pennies from cracked car windows
Making wishes on the winding shoulders
Of this interstate giant,
a trail of copper breadcrumbs
reminding me where I had come from.

Texas in spring, I left my keys
abandoned on the floor of a dirty bus stop,
Oregon in July, I caught that ocean breeze
sent me flying down the sunny coast
Georgia in September, I lost my last pair of shoes
but i’ll never lose my way back to you.

15 minutes to sundown, and I have 700 miles to go
Gotta hop those state lines
Like a stone over water
Because baby I don’t drive in the dark anymore.

hungover in San Francisco
five dollar coffee and no where to go
I abandoned the bay and took the ten o’clock train
to find an old love in Berkeley.

15 minutes to sundown, and I have 700 miles to go
Gotta hop those state lines
Like a stone over water
Because baby I don’t drive in the dark anymore.

I threw those pennies out every window,
interstates to dark back roads
I never wrote and I didn’t call
but those copper breadcrumbs in every zip code
lined every shoulder I wish had been yours,
a cent for every apology I owed.

15 minutes to sundown, and I have 700 miles to go
Gotta hop those state lines
Like a stone over water
Because baby I don’t drive in the dark anymore.

Leave a Reply

