NOLA –> Austin

I My last day in New Orleans was lovely. I posted some pictures, but didn’t write about it at all I so I feel like I should do a little bit of that.

I cruised Bourbon St., the rest of the French Quarter, and Canal st. In the morning and early afternoon. That area was by far my least favorite part of New Orleans. It smelled gross, the people were loud and intoxicated even at 11 am on a Friday morning, and it was swarming with tourists. Still, it was a cool experience, and I am glad that I decided to go. I got beignets and Cafe Au Lait at Cafe DuMonde and wandered in and out of a few little voodoo shops – those were some of the highlights of that part of town for me.

In the later afternoon, I went down to Bayou St. John for a music festival I had heard about. I met up with a few friends there and heard some great Zydeco music, ate a fried green tomato/shrimp Poboy, and jammed to the Wailers to top off the night. The zydeco group had an accordion player who is supposedly pretty famous in the accordion playing community (who knew?), and blew me away with his playing. There was another guy in the band (Dwayne Dopsie and the Zydeco Hellraisers) who was playing the washboard, which was also new to me. I definitely feel like I got a good dose of swamp music.

Yesterday, I left the hostel I was staying at in the morning and got on the road. I stopped in Baton Rouge for about an hour and a half along the way. I was pretty underwhelmed by the city- it seemed pretty lifeless in a sad, old person kind of way. When I was parking my car, I got out to check the meter and an old man with very few teeth yelled at me from his porch, “You don’t have to pay on the weekend. It’s the only thing you can get for free in this whole goddamn city.” Neither of us laughed, and I wasn’t quite sure if it was a joke or not. I did, however, find the tiniest farmers market I have ever seen- which conveniently had super cheap fresh strawberries. I love farmers markets, and it was really refreshing to get a nice little piece of something familiar.

The rest of the drive was uneventful- stopped a couple times along the way- gas, bathroom, to inspect some unbelievably beautiful wild flowers. I got to Austin just a little before 7. Just enough time to grab some fajitas for dinner, cruise around a hip neighborhood of two, then find a place to park my car to sleep for the night.

image

Spanish Town, Baton Rouge

image

Stopping to look at the wildflower

image

Strawberry haul 

 

Leave a Reply

