Hikin’ gal

Today’s adventure was a hike up to the top of Mount Olympus, Utah. I’m not sure what I was expecting, but it ended up being an incredibly challenging hike. It was around 7.5 miles, which isn’t too bad, but over the course of the way up, I climbed 5,000 feet. It felt a lot more like walking up stairs, except there were no stairs. And it was 90 degrees. And I ran out of water. It was hard. There were a couple times I thought about not finishing the hike, but I am glad that I stuck it out. Now that I got the whining out of the way, I can focus on the good parts.

The hike was so beautiful. Their were some views of the Salt Lake City valley and the Great Salt Lake on the way up, but then at the top it was the views of the other mountains that really were my favorite. I also got to climb some rocks on the way up- including one that was a straight drop on the other side. I am afraid of heights, and was shaking the whole time, but I managed to pull it off.

Some pictures are in order, I think.

imageimageimage

Leave a Reply

