(Day 3)

Preface: I fell asleep last night without writing my Day 3 poem, then proceeded to wake up at 2 am freaking out because I realized I hadn’t written it. So, delirious with sleep and definitely not in my most poetic moment, I wrote my poem then. 

Tuesday night crime shows
used to settle with one death
per episode.

episodes shorten, death count rises-
shock has a way of snatching
at shortening attention spans.

three deaths per episode. five. one
for every borough of the City.
producers explain –
they are just trying to keep up
with the 6 o’clock news.

Leave a Reply

